Andre Simon Memorial Funds Awards
Welcome to the André Simon Book Awards 2024 - the prestigious annual awards for food and drink books

On behalf of the Trustees, I would like to welcome you to the André Simon Book Awards 2024 - the prestigious annual awards for food and drink books. We look forward to receiving your entries.

Lennie wareThis year, we are delighted to welcome Lennie Ware as the assessor for the food books. Lennie is co-host of the award-winning podcast 'Table Manners' alongside her daughter, singer-songwriter Jessie Ware. Hilarious and hugely lovable, Table Manners has hit over 8 million listens since launching in 2017 and is consistently rated the most popular arts and food podcast in the UK, featuring A-list celebrities including Cher, Ed Sheeran, and Kylie Minogue. In 2020, the mother-daughter team published 'Table Manners: The Cookbook'. Filled with recipes made for celebrities on the Table Manners podcast, the book was well-received, with The Telegraph deeming it "damned good food."

Dawn DaviesDawn Davies will be in charge of assessing the drink books for 2024. Dawn has worked as a Head Sommelier at some of London's top restaurants, including Zuma, Boxwood Café and The Ledbury, which she previously managed. In 2007, Dawn left restaurants to join Selfridges as their Head Wine and Spirits buyer, establishing it as one of the top award-winning wine and spirit outlets in the UK. In 2014, Dawn won the Julian Brind Memorial Trophy for Outstanding Achievement in the Wine Industry. In 2015, she achieved her Master of Wine and joined Speciality Drinks as their head buyer, where she works with brands to launch new, quirky and interesting products, predicting the next big trends in the drink industry.

Books can now be submitted for the 2024 awards. The criteria, rules and application form can be found on the 2024 Awards page.


"Last year's submissions were a prime example of compelling food and drink writing. From insightful explorations of food culture to practical guides for enthusiasts, the entries exemplified the depth and breadth of culinary literature published in 2023. As we prepare for another round of submissions, I encourage you to share your literary works with us, whether you are an established or emerging author."

Nick Lander, Chair of the André Simon Food & Drink Book Awards

2023 Award Winners
Ravenous: How to Get Ourselves and Our Planet into Shape by Henry Dimbleby with Jemima Lewis

The New French Wine: Redefining the World's Greatest Wine Culture by Jon Bonné,

Special Commendation:
Gohan: Everyday Japanese Cooking by Emiko Davies

The John Avery Award:
How to Drink Australian: An Essential Modern Wine Book by Jane Lopes & Jonathan Ross

See Past Award Winners »

Food winner - 2023

Drinks winner - 2023

The John Avery Award - 2023

Special Commendation - 2023